Topic Options
#57799 - 06/20/18 10:22 AM Invalid record type in batch file - APALBTCH.DAT
JChalmers Offline
Stranger

Loc: VICTORIA, CANADA
This occurs in AP version 9.3a when attempting to post batched transactions (I'm a tech, so if my wording is incorrect I apologise). I suspect this is a corrupted file, although no errors show up when running the data integrity check.

Our rep suggested restoration to a past backup. We take many backups of both AP and GL, and I was hoping to get a bit more information as to this error so that I can zero in on a more specific problem.

For instance, does APALBTCH.DAT use any other DAT files? Perhaps I can restore only those files, and not the entire directory? (AP and GL use the same directory.)

I am a DB guy, so am not averse to any good knowledge anyone can furnish regarding this error.

Thanks!

#57800 - 06/20/18 10:59 AM Re: Invalid record type in batch file - APALBTCH.DAT [Re: JChalmers]
Steve Schwartz Offline
Adagio God

Loc: Wynnewood, PA
A couple of things...

Make sure you have the latest service of AP 9.3A, dated 4/22/18, installed.

The file APALBTCH.DAT contains the transactions that are waiting to be retrieved into Ledger. Once those transactions are successfully retrieved, the file gets deleted (and then starts building up again as more transactions are posted).

The file does not have a link to any other files in Payables, so if you were to restore it, you would not cause any data corruption. But you would likely end up with missing or duplicate transactions in Ledger unless you know exactly what you are doing.

However, before you do anything, print the Print/Consolidate GL Transactions report under Payables | Reports, even if just to screen, so you can see what transactrions are not being successfully retrieved. In my experience, even if the file is corrupted, the report still prints. Then rename the APALBTCH.DAT file so the problem doesn't compound.