Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#49732 - 04/22/16 10:55 AM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Softrak Support Offline

Adagio Action Team

Registered: 03/09/99
Posts: 11549
Loc: Vancouver, BC Canada
Hi Yann,

Did you want your app to do the 30/60/90 calculations, or is it OK to have Adagio do this ahead of time with the Calculate Customer Aging function? If the latter choice would work, then all you need is the customer master file (without transactions), as the aged amounts are stored in fields titled 'Aged Current', Aged Bucket 1', 'Aged Bucket 2', etc.
_________________________
Regards,
Softrak Tech Support

Top
#49735 - 04/22/16 02:18 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Softrak Support]
Michael Mulrooney Offline
Adagio Virtuoso

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 839
Loc: Vancouver, BC
"..small development project in Visual Studio 2013 using"

If you upload a backup VS2013 project or the "code snippet" that is causing the failure I will have R&D take a look.
Upload to www.softrak.com/dbr for Tech Support attention Michael

Top
#49752 - 04/25/16 01:20 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Michael Mulrooney]
Yann Offline
Adagio Scholar

Registered: 10/26/06
Posts: 94
Loc: BC, Canada
Thanks Michael,

Because I am not as familiar as I would like to be with the Adagio tables, I'm trying to use the Data Source Configuration Wizard in Visual Studio.

If you have an example of a Adagio Connection string and some DataAccess code, it could be helpful.

Can I use SqlCommand when querying your tables?

Thanks
Yann

Top
#49755 - 04/25/16 01:52 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Yann Offline
Adagio Scholar

Registered: 10/26/06
Posts: 94
Loc: BC, Canada
Ok,

I was able to get all the records from the ARTranswCust__ar92a100 table by using the following code...
The Wizard does not seam to be compatible with the Adagio Data Source for some reason. Could be a problem similar to the Excel Query, where it won't display tables with more than 255 columns...

My Data Table was filled after a good 15-20 seconds (it wasn't very fast).
I'll try other tables as well as filter the results to see if I can speedup the process.



DataTable vendorTransactions = new DataTable();

OdbcConnection conn = new OdbcConnection();
conn.ConnectionString = "DSN=Adagio Data Source; ";
try
{
conn.Open();
OdbcCommand command = conn.CreateCommand();
command.CommandText = "select * from ARTranswCust__ar92a100";

OdbcDataAdapter adapter = new OdbcDataAdapter();
adapter.SelectCommand = command;
adapter.Fill(vendorTransactions);

// Process data here.
}
catch (Exception ex)
{
MessageBox.Show("Failed to connect to data source");
}
finally
{
conn.Close();
}

Top
#49765 - 04/25/16 02:41 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Michael Mulrooney Offline
Adagio Virtuoso

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 839
Loc: Vancouver, BC
I would not use "Select *" from any table. In this case you are getting back 276 columns time # records in AR Transaction file.

Use ...\Softrak\system\DataDictionaryExporter.exe /ODBC to create an Excel Workbook that lists all the data elements in all the tables for a particular application.

With the AR 92 Sample data Select * From ARTRanswCust returned 185,000 data cells.

Top
#49769 - 04/25/16 03:05 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Michael Mulrooney]
Yann Offline
Adagio Scholar

Registered: 10/26/06
Posts: 94
Loc: BC, Canada
Yes, Thank you.
I had done the Data Dictionary Export already.

in response to the post from "Softrak Tech Support" it was suggested that I look in the 'Aged Current', Aged Bucket 1', 'Aged Bucket 2', etc.
but there is no data in there...

Even on my Customer screen, I do not have any data in the Current, 1-30, 31-45, 46-60, over 60 boxes at the bottom of the window...

Thanks

Top
#49771 - 04/25/16 03:43 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Yann Offline
Adagio Scholar

Registered: 10/26/06
Posts: 94
Loc: BC, Canada
Hi,

Further to my last post, I noticed that if I want to pick columns by defining my own query, the column names do not match what came out of the Data Dictionary Export.
for example, i am able to do this: select cust, Name, Name2, BalanceOutstanding from AR92ACST where BalanceOutstanding > 0
But the columns are actually named as such in the Data Dictionary
cust # (with a space and a # sign)
Name
Name 2 (with a space)
Balance Outstanding (with a space)

How do I know what the column should be called?

Thanks
Yann

Top
#49772 - 04/25/16 04:09 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Michael Mulrooney Offline
Adagio Virtuoso

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 839
Loc: Vancouver, BC

Use ...\Softrak\system\DataDictionaryExporter.exe /ODBC to create an Excel Workbook that lists all the data elements in all the tables for a particular application.

NOTE: /ODBC to create ODBC compliant names

Top
#49773 - 04/25/16 04:10 PM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Yann]
Retired_Guy Offline
Adagio Master

Registered: 03/16/99
Posts: 10504
Loc: Canada
You need to start the Data Dictionary Exporter with /ODBC on the command line to get the ODBC names. Otherwise you get the GridView Names.

You need to run "Calculate Customer Aging" to populate the fields in the customer master.
_________________________
Andrew Bates

Top
#49783 - 04/26/16 09:01 AM Re: ODBC Connection Wizard [Re: Retired_Guy]
Yann Offline
Adagio Scholar

Registered: 10/26/06
Posts: 94
Loc: BC, Canada
Thank you.

Is there any way to change the settings for the aged values?
If I wanted to 1-30, 30-60, 60-90 and over 90 in the fields of the Customer Master table?

AgedBucket1
AgedBucket2
AgedBucket3
AgedBucket4
AgedDays1
AgedDays2
AgedDays3

Thanks
Yann


Edited by Yann (04/26/16 09:11 AM)

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >


Moderator:  Christa_Meissner 
Who's Online
3 registered (Carol Wojick, 2 invisible), 59 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
1865 Members
5 Forums
14467 Topics
70661 Posts

Max Online: 432 @ 01/20/25 10:17 PM
April
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30